For a .PDF version of this document, please click [HERE]
Welcome to the
I. Books:
The PUC Library shelves books in several locations: Stacks,
Reference, Special Collections, TERC (
You may use the Library’s PULSE Online Catalog, and
select Search or Assisted Search options to look for
books by author, title, subject, keyword, etc. Note the call number, location,
and status.
II. Journals:
Current issues of journals and magazines are kept in
the Unbound Periodicals area, arranged alphabetically by title. Back issues of
periodicals are bound together in volumes and shelved in the Bound
Periodicals
by call number.
You can use the PULSE Search
option to look for journals in the Library. Pick Journal Title from the drop-down menu
when looking for a particular journal. Enter the
first few words of title: Journal of engineer (Journal of engineering for industry). Omit articles (a, an, the ...) at the
beginning of title.
If you are searching for all journals
related to your course, you may enter the subject plus “periodical”: “finance
periodicals”, select Library of Congress
Subject from
the drop-down menu, and
click search. A list of journal titles will be displayed.
Electronic
journals are included in PULSE and are also available by clicking on
Electronic Journals and Collections on our
library's web site.
Our library subscribes to many online databases and
electronic journals for study and research. Click on Databases and Research on the
left side of the Library’s web site to locate a database and find articles on a
particular topic.
INSPIRE, Indiana
Virtual Library, is a good place to start your search. General subject areas
that INSPIRE specializes in are business, education, medical, newspapers, and
biographies.
First Search provides
information in a wide range of subjects in over 30 databases. WorldCat is an excellent database to
use to identify material not owned by our library. It helps you to know which
libraries have the books you need. You
may request a book via Interlibrary Loan by clicking on Send request to ILLiad at PUC.
Other databases can be accessed by clicking on Other
Online Databases. There is a list of databases
arranged alphabetically by title of the database.
In addition, click on Electronic Journals and
Collections; you are able to access other databases such as IEEE Journals (Full text from the Institute of Electrical and
Electronic Engineers), Elsevier Science Direct Online (the resource for Science, Technology, and Medical information), JSTOR (an electronic archive of core scholarly
journals in the humanities, social science, and science), Springer Journals Online (interactive
databases providing one million documents online), etc.
Many journal articles are available in full-text form
now. Full-text means that you can print, download or e-mail the entire article.
For periodicals that are not available full-text in one database, you may need
to determine whether or not they are available locally at our library or in
another database.
IV. Foreign-Language Dictionaries:
Many language dictionaries are located in the Reference section. Additional copies, which may be checked
out, are kept in the Stacks. To find
a bilingual dictionary (e.g., a French-English dictionary or a Chinese-English
dictionary) on PULSE, search the following phrases as a Library of Congress Subject:
French Language - Dictionaries - English
Chinese Language – Dictionaries – English
Listed below are some of the bilingual dictionaries
available in our library:
·
Chinese-English
dictionary of contemporary usage
Reference PL1455. C59 1977
·
A
dictionary of modern written Arabic: (Arabic-English)
Reference PJ6640. W43 1994
·
Jing
xuan ying han han ying ci dian (Chinese English dictionary)
Reference PL1455. C66 1986
·
Merriam-Webster’s
French-English dictionary
Reference
PC2640. M48 2000
·
The
Reference
PC4640.O94 1994
·
Spanish-English,
English-Spanish medical dictionary
Reference
R121.M488 2005
In addition, many language dictionaries are available
on the Internet:
·
http://dictionary.com provides
dictionaries, translations, and resources for English style, grammar, and
usage.
·
http://www.m-w.com/dictionary.htm
(the Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary) includes dictionaries, Thesaurus,
and word games.
V. Sources for English as a Second Language (ESL)
The Library provides
various materials of English language for foreign speakers. Use Search on PULSE, enter English Language –
Textbooks for Foreign Speakers, select Library of Congress
Subject from the
drop-down menu, click search,
and you may find the relevant book you need for your English course.
Listed below are some of the English language books
for ESL learners:
Stacks PE
1128.J 59P PE1128.J59PE1128 .J59 E1128 .J59
Stacks PE1128.G66 1983
(Electronic resource means the book is an e-book, click the
linked resource to the Net Library and check out the book online. To read the
e-book from off campus access, you have to set up an account, and use user name
and password to login.)
Online Help with ESL:
·
English as a Second Language /by
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/
(provides ESL
resources, handouts and exercises)
·
Self-Study Quizzes for ESL Students /by
Internet TESL Journal http://a4esl.org/q/h/
·
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation /by Jane
Strauss
http://www.grammarbook.com/ (answers
to questions concerning proper English grammar and punctuation)
·
Guide to Grammar and Writing /by
http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/
The Library keeps some style manuals in its Reference collection. Check the Library’s
catalog for locations. The primary style manuals available in our library are
as follows:
·
Publication
Manual of the American Psychological Association
Reference
BF76.7.P83 1997
·
Reference Z253.U69 1993
·
A Manual
for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian)
Stacks LB 2369.T8 1996
Preference LB 2369.G53 2003
Writing
Style Manuals are also available online:
·
APA /MLA Formatting and Style Guild http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/
·
Guide to citation style guides http://bailiwick.lib.uiowa.edu/journalism/cite.html
·
On the Library’s web page, select Electronic Journals and
Collections. Then click Virtual Reference, and you
will find a list of online style manuals, including Purdue University Manual
for the preparation of graduate theses.
VII. International
Newspapers:
To read international newspaper on our library’s web
page, you can click on Electronic Journals and
Collections, and select Virtual
Library. Then click Virtual Reading
Room, and under the list of newspapers, click News and Newspapers Online.
Many international newspapers are also available on
the other web sites:
·
Online News Papers: http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/
·
The Internet Public Library: Http://www.ipl.org/div/news/
I.
Reference Services
II. Interlibrary Loan Request
The Library provides students with books and periodical
articles not available locally through the Interlibrary Loan service. Before requesting an Interlibrary
Loan, you need to register. On our library’s web site, click on Electronic
Library Services. Then, click Request an Interlibrary
Loan, and follow the instructions for first time users to fill out
the form.
Interlibrary loan requests may take as long as one to two weeks to fill. Start your research well in advance so that you can take advantage of this service.
You may renew an item in person at the library's circulation
desk or electronically. To renew online, click PULSE,
and find Patron Information at the top of
the page. Then, enter your ID number and your last name to log in. Look at the
Charged Items, which is the list of items you have checked out. Click on the Renew box next to each item that you want to
renew, and then click on Renew
Items.
If the item was successfully renewed, a new due date will appear.
Another way to renew material is clicking on Electronic Library Services on the left side of the Library’s web site.
Then, click Renewals, and follow the instructions to fill out the form.
However, you cannot renew periodicals or items that are overdue.
You may request an item that is
currently checked out of the library by placing a hold. You can place a hold in
person at the circulation desk or electronically.
To
place a hold online, you need find the record for the item you want in PUSLE
to make sure the status is charged. Then, click on Requests at the top of the page;
enter your ID number and last name to Login.
From the drop-down menu, select Hold
and click OK. You will
be notified when the item is available for pick-up.
If you need help placing a hold, just ask the staff
at the Circulation Desk in person, or call at 989-2224.